Inside the Mind of a Landscape Photographer

 

2014-7759

Good Sunday morning,

I hope you’re having a great weekend!

I wanted to share an image that I created during our New River Gorge Photography Workshop a few weeks ago. We stopped at one of our locations and I set a shot up for the group. I focused on composition to show everyone what I was seeing at this location. I have three things happening in this image:

  • A hint of foreground leaves
  • The nice “C” curve of the falls
  • And the brilliant fall colors of the tress in the background.

I always ask people where’s “the magic” (as I like to call it) or what attracted them to this scene. Because this dictates where you place your horizon line. When on location I determine “what is the most important element” and for me it’s the falls. So when I compose this image I will allow more weight to the falls. Two thirds foreground / falls and one third to the autumn colors in the background.  I also like how the foreground leave complement the autumn colors in the background.

I hope this little tip helps and want to thank you for stopping by and reading!

Metadata:

  • Nikon D800
  • Tamron Lens SP 24-70mm f/2.8 @ 24mm
  • Gitzo Tripod
  • Aperture – f/16
  • Exposure – 3 seconds
  • Singh Ray LB Color Combo Polarizer
  • Cable Release

Best of Light,

Ed

One thought on “Inside the Mind of a Landscape Photographer

Leave a Reply

