“New” Tamron SP 150-600MM F/5-6.3 Di VC USD Mini Review

2014-6178

2014-6178crop

2014-6196

2014-6196crop

Ok, I know I promised you guys a review of the new Tamron 150 – 600mm lens and I promise I will be putting it through some serious testing soon but here’s a quick and dirty first impression!

Awesome…. oh, did I mention awesome, yes it’s an incredible lens but then again I expected no less from Tamron.

The lens is incredibly sharp and the focus was very quick to snap on. Now granted these are not the best subjects to showcase my work but they were good enough to highlighting the performance of the new lens.

The first set of images, (Robin in a bush) was taken about 200 feet from my front porch in the rain at 600 mm focal length. The second image is actually an insert of the original cropped to show the sharpness of the lens.

The third image of the horse was handheld using the VC feature at 240mm focal length. This was approximately 100 yards from my camera. The fourth is again an insert or crop of the original image.

These images were shot with a Nikon D3 and were processed for contrast and exposure with NO sharpening applied.

First impression… I’m extremely happy with this lens and can’t wait to really give it a work out.

Best of light,
Ed

3 thoughts on ““New” Tamron SP 150-600MM F/5-6.3 Di VC USD Mini Review

  1. I was wondering if you got a copy to try. I have one rented for our upcoming trip to the Smoky Mountains in June and can’t wait to try it out. Looks like I won’t be dissappointed.

  2. Admiring the persistence you put into your site and
    detailed information you provide. It’s awesome to come across a
    blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out
    of date rehashed information. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked
    your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

